Black in Asia

제 이름은 김민준 입니다 kkkkkkkㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ! My name is Kim Minjun!

뜻이 있는 곳에 길이 있다 !

Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

안녕하세요 제 블로그에 오신걸 환영합니다. 제 이름은 다니엘입니다!
Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel!

Kim Minjun, has a nice ring to it right?

Image

Agree!

The story behind me getting this name is quite simple in fact. I wanted an authentic Korean name. My Chinese name is (丹尼尔) which is nothing but a translation of my English name, (Daniel), but every time I pronounce my Chinese name to a Chinese person I get these responses:

Image

什么? (what)
好奇怪 (pretty strange)
有意思 (interesting)
再说一次,我没听清楚 (say it again, I didn’t hear it right)

Image

Basically my name is weird, to be translated into Chinese (lol) and the tones are hard, because the don’t roll off the tongue very well.

I have been debating where I would want to get my MBA once I graduate from Lincoln University, and I thought it would be cool, if I went to (South) Korea for it.

Image

But the first thing I need, before I apply, before I graduate, even before I look at the schools…

I need, an authentic, local, common but standout, NAME. Something that doesn’t get these responses:

Image

뭐? (What…kkkkk)
뭐야? (What the heck…kkkkk)
이상 하네 (weird…kkkkk)
이름이 이상해 (your name is weird kkkkkk)

So, when I do get these responses (cause it will happen), I rather it be Oh! 외국인(foreigner) has a Korean name, instead of (lol 외국인 can’t pronounce his name right).

Image

So thanks to my new Korean friend, (she named me!!) I now have myself a 100% Korean name. Now if only she can find me a school and some scholarships!!Image

2 replies »

Leave a Comment

