Black in Asia

Weird China: getting lost in the smog, to finding tree climbing cats, and getting flooded~

你好!欢迎你来看我的博客!叫我丹尼尔吧!

안녕하세요 제 블로그에 오신걸 환영합니다. 제 이름은 다니엘입니다!

こんにちは。僕の名前はダニエルです。僕のブログへようこそ!

Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel!

China will always be the place that never gets old to me, but some events there really pushed me to my limits. Sometimes it was the monsoon season where campus got flooded, sometimes it was air-apocalypse  the but I really did like the cats climbing tree.

Haha.

Let’s start with the smog~
China knows it has this huge problem, sometimes it’s referred to as “low clouds” or “haze” but it’s “SMOG.” My true battle with the smog came after my trip to Macau (gambling =P), getting off the plane I noticed the sky was, well, green and yellow? Air-apocalypse..?   Image

After checking the PM meter( particle matter ), it said Shanghai was 700+!!!
700 is so hazardous…..here’s a comparison. NYC’s, my hometown (shoutout), average OM 2.5 level is around 50-100, which is dusty to our standards. And those are just the bad days. New Jersey, my current residence, (shoutout for Jersey too) is also around 50-80. Compared to 700 in Shanghai..I felt smoked out like a roach lol

Image

Moving on to the floods:
This one of course is up to Mother Nature, but it’s funny. Here in the US, we cancel classes if it’s too cold, snows, rainstorm etc. in China, they don’t lol. Maybe if it’s 1000 PM, which it can get to in Beijing, they cancel classes, or allow students to wear masks in class,

Image

but in the case of floods, nope. Still got class, and even more ,head spinning, is students take off their shoes and socks and strut through the knee high water across campus to class, this deserves a Lol. And a picture;

Image

Cat-squirrels:
This one always amazes me, in China, I have never, not once, seen a squirrel.

Image

But, I do see cats taking their places as king of the trees. My first time seeing a cat climb a tree, I actually stood in the middle of campus, and watched him walk sideways up a tree? Naturally the Chinese people must of thought “why is the foreigner standing there watching the cat” and of course they watched me, watching the cat. Oh and someone took my picture too -_-, but back to the cats. After that feat, I though hmm, okay well that’s an interesting cat, until I see it again, this time with picture evidence.

The cost of development I guess, but now I know I’m not crazy…it’s just China!

Image
谢谢看我的博客,请再来吧。
제 블로그를 읽어주셔서 감사합니다. 또 들러주세요.
ブログを見てくれてありがとう。もう一度来てください!!!!

3 replies »

  1. I hardly leave a response, however i did some searching and wound up
    here Weird China: getting lost in the smog, to finding
    tree climbing cats, and getting flooded~ | Voyage To Asia.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it just me or does it seem like some of these remarks look
    like written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online sites, I’d like to
    follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you
    make a list of every one of all your social sites like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Like

  2. Hey! Someone in my Faceƅook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m ɗefinitely loving thе infoгmation. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Outstanding blоg anԁ outstanding ѕtyle and design.

    Like

Leave a Comment

