Black in Asia

I’m a poet, and I didn’t even know it~ Language poetry contest 2014

Language poetry contest

“Poetry is when an emotion has found its thought and the thought has found words.”
Robert Frost

你好!欢迎你来看我的博客!叫我丹尼尔吧!
안녕하세요 제 블로그에 오신걸 환영합니다. 제 이름은 다니엘입니다!
こんにちは。僕の名前はダニエルです。僕のブログへようこそ!(new)

Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel!

Every spring semester, Lincoln University’s language department hosts it’s Language poetry contest. What we students have to do is, first find and select a poem in either Spanish, French, Arabic, Chinese, or Japanese. I originally wanted to do a Korean poem, but since we don’t have Korean speakers, I couldn’t be judged,Image so I did a Chinese poem. Image

The purpose of the contest, is to not “only” read your poem, but, to basically use whatever you can to allow the judges and audience to understand your poem. Some people use pictures, candles, dance, performance etc. and we also get judged on how it sounds and does it flow.

There are 3 prizes 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place. Last year me and my Chinese poem won 1st place and received…………….wait for it………………………a little more…………………………okay! 300 beautiful $’s ImageImage

lol. Well it was a check but i don’t refuse it. As long as it doesn’t bounce. This year though, The Japanese students struck back hard, and they won 1st this year. As long as I got a prize….3rd….
-_-; it’s all good. Can’t win them all, but no worries, I support Japanese too! I even added Japanese to the welcome and closing sentences. Next year however, I will do a Korean poem and win 1st no matter what.

Image
谢谢看我的博客,请再来吧。
제 블로그를 읽어주셔서 감사합니다. 또 들러주세요.
ブログを見てくれてありがとう。もう一度来てください! (New)

147 replies »

  1. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your
    post is simply cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

    Like

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital
    to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently
    quickly.

    Like

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!

    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I
    look forward to brand new updates and will share this website
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Like

  4. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

    Like

Leave a Comment

