Black in Asia

#Generation Study Abroad, Part of a New Nation

#Generation Study Abroad, Part of a New Nation
“The world is my country, all mankind are my brethren, and to do good is my religion”, Thomas Paine
Image
你好!欢迎你来看我的博客!叫我丹尼尔吧!
안녕하세요 제 블로그에 오신걸 환영합니다. 제 이름은 다니엘입니다!
Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel!
When I, just completed another semester in China, I was quite lucky to receive the Gilman International Study Abroad Scholarship. This scholarship is by far one of the most generous scholarships that every study abroad student should be aware of. Now Gilman selects their scholars based on preference groups and they are pushing minorities to go abroad. So a minority from an under represented school, studying in a critical area such as…..? Asia right? Yeah! Will receive a big scholarship, in my case, I received $8000. And cherished every cent.
Today Gilman had a networking session, which was based around us, study abroad Gilman alumni, and also as part of Gilman’s #Generation Study Abroad, (support them) campaign. During the session I met many interesting individuals as well as received some valuable information. “Only 10% of Americans study abroad per year……China sends millions per year….we can do better. Another thing I learned is that networking is a powerful tool that can yield immeasurable results.  Off topic, let’s speak of some of the contacts I made today, part of the #Generation Study Abroad, and what I’m noticing, from all this, is the uprising of a new nation, this generation is far more global then the prior generation could have foreseen. Technology makes up more instantly connected around the globe; within seconds I can be chatting with my friends in Korea, or strategizing in battles live on Xbox One.  And it’s just the beginning. I had the pleasure of meeting individuals such as a Korean – American student who came all the way to New York from half-way across the US, from Indiana just to attend, and he went to Turkey. I met about 6 other students who went to Japan, including a Chinese girl, and a Hispanic guy. Taiwan and Korea were also popular spots.  Not only did we network with each other, we met the president and CEO of the IIE (Institute of International Education), a congresswoman attended, and other polished state department officials.
Image
The biggest enjoyment, was the excitement we all felt as we told each others our stories and adventures. We mingled and, to my surprise, my study abroad coordinator Ms. Lundy, from Lincoln University, is well known. I owe her, a gratitude of thanks. I enjoyed speaking Chinese with some new friends, speaking some Japanese, haha, with those who went to Japan, and even some Korean for my new buddy. We also all translated off each others conversations for fun and to showcase Gilman’s money well spent and invested.  Overall, I would once again like to thank the IIE, for awarding me the Gilman International Study Abroad Scholarship, we are building a new generation of travelers, and we are all pursuing a global identity. Soon enough we won’t be seen as “just” American, or “just” Asian, but, we will be seen as global citizens
Image
.谢谢看我的博客,请再来吧。
제 블로그를 읽어주셔서 감사합니다. 또 들러주세요.
7 replies »

  1. Hi, I do think this is ɑn excellent sіte.
    Ӏ stumblеdupon it 😉 I’m going to returո yet again since
    i have book marked it. Money and freedom is tthe best way to change,
    may yoս ƅe rich and continuе to help other people.

    Like

  2. Ԝoah! I’m гeally loving the template/theme of thhis site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lоt of times it’s challenging to ɡet that “perfect balance”
    bеtween user friendliness and appearance. I must sɑу that
    you’ve done a very good job with this. Also, tɦe blog loadѕ super fast
    for me on Opera. Excellent Blog!

    Like

  3. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be exciting to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their web sites.

    Like

Leave a Comment

