Black in Asia

Creating a Chinese program at a historically black campus…the challenges?

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”
― Confucius

你好!欢迎你来看我的博客!叫我丹尼尔吧
Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel

The beginning of the Chinese program was shaky, hard, depressing, and completely embarrassing, but eventually lead to small success…

chinese club

Shaky: the opening ceremony for Chinese was to be a grand spectacle presenting it to the students, and faculty, who actually attended? Faculty a handful, and the marching band, which I was a member and had to beg the band directors to allow.

Hard: convincing students to try something new is a sucker job, convincing them to take extra classes to try something exotic got me some ” you crazy as hell” responses. And through it all after all that, success, after a whole semester, we had our first student! Karyl!!!

Depressing: man, I thought presidents of clubs was the ish, the stuff, the fame. Well, during the beginning of my reign, I did it all. What depressed me, walking through the rain putting up flyers in every school building, for an event no one would attend, then walking through the snow with flyers and tape, when the campus was closed….or better yet, having people join the Chinese club meetings to devour my food and candy paid for out of pocket.

Embarrassments: I always knew, being embarrassed sucks, but my father and his old breed always quoted, their coin phrase, which is true, but you don’t never want to hear it is…….” It puts hair on your chest,” or better yet…..this one really gets me…..” It builds character.” So Chinese a driving force through my college career got me much needed hairy, character building embarrassment. Let’s name a few…..my band director coined me Daniel-san (san is Japanese), “you crazy as hell,” heard this one the most. I, tone death as all else, sang a song, in Chinese, LMAO, for the opening ceremony to bring Chinese to Lincoln, in front of the band,…..I’m blackanese apparently, or the China man. But hey, builds character right?

So was it worth it? Successes:
Mine: Despite these hardships I’ve had much success. Let’s go back to 2011 I got denied from Lincoln to go to China first attempt, and I almost gave up, mainly cause I was determined to be a Sasquatch like my father…..second time, in 2012 approved and I went to China. You can’t imagine my state of mind. I couldn’t sleep right for a week, then in 2013 I went again. Who goes abroad twice in an undergrad? After my first China trip, I came back and did a duet with Karyl for University of Delaware (our partner Confucious institute school) for Chinese Spring Festival. The second time back I was one of the MC’s (master of ceremony)for that festival. Only black guy and foreign face for that matter.

...

Lincoln’s: when I first left for China and Karyl assumed the president of my club, we had about 3 students studying Chinese. The. That number rose, we introduced a Chinese minor now. A year later we now have around 8-10 students enrolled, 2-3 going to China in the summer, and 2 active classes. To take it a notch further, we even have some students not enrolled in the language but who can speak it a bit. Hey, two Chinese sentences and I’m impressed. LU!!!!! Lincoln Pride. chinese club

What I’ve learned is that many people are small minded when the idea of something foreign manifests it way into their way of life. I’ve struggled, and lost many battles, but through it all, I’ll take that ridicule, and those losses, because I rather people know that I’m serious about this, with the new freshman coming in each year more openminded than the previous years, I will take as much of the ridicule, so the successors of the program can enjoy its benefit and prestige. Knowing Chinese gives you a prestige and pride, that no other language can satisfy in my opinion, debatable, but it’s one of those things that let you feel as if anythings possible. Yes, I turned what was thought to be a small time soon to disappear language on a black campus, to a thriving program which I hope can be taken seriously, and it will be.
再见,再回来吧

LU

41 replies »

  1. Numerous folks will undoubtedly reap the benefits of quality post
    such as this one. Do place me on your news letter in order
    that I can be up-to-date with your latest posts.
    Thanks upfront.

    Like

  2. I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

    Like

  3. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

  4. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thanks!

    Like

    • We’ll, I’m glad your cousin was able to share and pass it onto to you. I’m also glad that this post was able to help you in any way. Thank you for viewing. I hope to can check out other interesting articles on here. 🙂

      Like

  5. I’ve bееn surfing online mօre tɦan tɦree hours
    today, ƴet Ι nver founԁ аny іnteresting article lіke yoսrs.
    It is pretty worth eոough for mе. In my opinion, if ɑll webmasters
    аnd bloggers mаdе good content as yοu did,
    the net will bе a lot mߋгe uѕeful than eѵer beforе.

    Like

    • wow, thank you very much for this comment! I don’t know if my articles are that powerful, but I love to share my experiences, and I like that my readers can follow me from the beginning of the blog and my journey until who knows when…I see no end for voyagetoasia 🙂

      Like

  6. Hi! Someοne iո my Myspace gгoup shared tҺіs site wіtҺ սs
    ѕo Ӏ cаme to check it out. I’m defіnitely loving tɦе infoгmation.
    I’m book-marking anԀ will Ƅe tweeting tҺiѕ to my followers!
    Excellent blog ɑnd suerb design.

    Like

  7. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I
    need some guidance from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things
    out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m
    not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions?
    Cheers

    Like

  8. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

    Like

  9. Great goods from you, man. I have consider your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent.
    I really like what you’ve received here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which by which you say
    it. You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it
    wise. I can not wait to learn much more from you. This
    is really a tremendous web site.

    Like

  10. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation however I to find this topic to be really something which I think I
    would by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me.

    I am having a look forward to your next publish, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of
    it!

    Like

  11. Heуa i’m for the first time here. I found tҺis bοard
    and I find It reallү helpful & it helpеd me out а
    lоt. I hope to present one thing again and aid
    othеrs such ɑs you aided me.

    Like

  12. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon
    your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Like

  13. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a
    quick visit this blog on regular basis to obtain updated
    from most up-to-date news update.

    Like

  14. Thank you for some other informative website. The place else may just I get that
    kind of info written in such a perfect manner? I have a undertaking that I am simply
    now working on, and I have been on the glance out for such information.

    Like

  15. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

  16. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your
    blog. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will definitely
    digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they
    will be benefited from this website.

    Like

  17. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is simply cool and i could
    assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your
    permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

    Like

  18. Good job in showing the initiative, I was unaware that you put the time and heart into developing something that you are passionate about. You hit it pretty well on the spot, generally, people are extremely hesitant about putting themselves in uncomfortable situations, so recruiting members will always be hard. Also, I personally feel that the American culture has done a great job belittling and demonizing Asian cultures to where it is considered a taboo for one to be involved with it, bit hey, its alright to freeload all the panda express right? (hope you did not buy panda express) Anywho, I wish you the best of luck in your endeavors

    Like

Leave a Comment

