Black in Asia

” The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.” Lao Tzu

” The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.”
Lao Tzu
Image
你好!欢迎你来看我的博客!叫我丹尼尔吧
Hello, welcome to my blog, my name is Daniel.
You know when someone tells you something that you know for sure, with absolute certainty, will succeed, but your afraid to take that first step? Well, this is my first step. I’ve been told by friends, co-workers, professors, and acquaintances that I have an interesting story and that I should share it.
Its more like a journey in fact.
This journey is one that takes me, a young black college student from a historically black college, and drops me nearly 8000 miles, into the East….The Middle Kingdoms…China!
LU
The Lincoln University, the school in the middle of no where, unknown by most people, has a knack for allowing students to be creative. In fact we have to create, because the school is small, what we want we make. So as a freshman what did I want, to study Chinese, go to China, get a Chinese girlfriend, and life’s good. Maybe convince her to come to Lincoln lol.
The reality?
No Chinese students, no Chinese programs or language classes, and no study abroad for freshman. It’s an all black school lol.
I’ve always though of myself as a “jack of all trades,” an average guy, average in terms of grades……, average in terms of qualifications, average in terms of looks, fashion, game, all average. But what I did posses was a desire, a hunger, a hidden ambition for myself, a go-getter. And I got that in spades. I loved history, and castles, you know, the castles that towns used to derive in, like China’s Han dynasty.castle
With sentries on the walls etc. I loved the history behind it, the design, the battles and strategies, etc. and I was determined to build one. My desire to push for what I want kicks in here, I loved to draw, and since castles were cities in those ancient days, I would draw them, and I was good at it, to the point my father suggested I take up architecture, since my pictures had good scaling.
In this castle I wanted to have a hotel, mall, shopping, the whole works, for history lovers etc etc i was 14. But what this showed me upon reflection, is that I go hard for what I want. For this castle I had to convince my father i would succeed and he would work for me, I even started looking for investors, and also figured a massive area like Pennsylvania would be perfect for this….now…..fast forward to the present.
In school we didn’t have anything Chinese, and I wanted what I wanted, so Lincoln was going to bring me a Chinese program. On way or another, and sure enough, I played a small part haha, Sophmore year we had it. Two Chinese professors fresh off the plane before me! (Since I was the only student in the entire school who spoke Chinese). They got the works, wined and dined, met the president, got a fancy residence, at least compared to the hood, McCary I lived in, and the fame. (2 cute early 20s Chinese teachers on a campus full of black students…..they were pretty well known) and building on the momentum I founded the Chinese club!chinese clubchinese club1

What I learned from my youth till my young adulthood is that determination will get you places. I’ve always been told, that many successful people are average everyday individuals, with an above average desire or ambition. Basically to be a go-getter. From wanting to build that tourist resort castle, to wanting my Chinese program, I’ve seen that going after what you want tenaciously is the only way to be taken seriously. We got that Chinese program, but the castle, I grew out of that lol. I feel as though with all these things, I’ve pursued, the first step was so difficult, it felt like hopping over a prison wall, ( not the best reference used by a black guy), the steps following that great leap, or escape lol, become easier. Ya just gotta keep on movin’ 再见,再回来吧

7 replies »

  1. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

  2. Daniel this is amazing brother. So well put, the language is inviting and informative. The posts must keep coming! For you and the world 😊

    Like

  3. This was a great opportunity to really take into account someone’s testimony on a journey that most people don’t take. The stories were enlightening. Keep more posts coming. I’m interested to hear about the differences of both trips. Which was more enriching and why?

    Like

    • I’d say the second trip was more enriching. My first trip I was a tourist so everything was amazing. The second time I more closely observed things, i travelled to different places, learned more language, had a different set of friends, and overall saw things in a different light.

      Like

Leave a Comment

